War Resisters' International, Make West Papua Safe and TAPOL

Monday, 23 November 2020 (All day)
International
International

Date: 23rd November 2020

Time: 9:30am UTC (10:30am CET, 17:30pm WITA, 18:30 WIT, 20:30 AEDT)

Speakers:

Adriana Sri Adhiati, TAPOL
Rosa Moiwend, Make West Papua Safe (MWPS) and a member of WRI's Council
Gustav Kawer, Human Rights Lawyers Association for Papua (PAHAM Papua)
Yohanes Douw, PAHAM Papua
Jason Macleod, MWPS
Zelda Grimshaw, MWPS

Platform: Zoom (we will also livestream on Facebook)

This webinar, hosted by War Resisters' International, Make West Papua Safe and TAPOL, will discuss militarised policing in West Papua, resistance to militarism, the network of international corporations and governments who actively train and arm the Indonesian National Police, why they do it, and how you can stand with West Papuans. Tune in to find out more, and become active in the largest growing and most powerful nonviolent resistance movement in Oceania, the liquid continent.

Background

West Papuans are facing a slow-motion, militarised genocide, led by the Indonesian government. But the movement for freedom in this Melanesian nation-in-waiting is irrepressible. It is also overwhelmingly nonviolent.

The leading perpetrators of state violence in West Papua, which borders the independent state of Papua New Guinea, are the Indonesian National Police. They are hell bent on maintaining the illegal occupation of West Papua. The Indonesian National Police include the paramilitary unit Brimob, and the heavily militarised counter-insurgency group, Special Detachment 88. Indonesian police regularly conduct lethal operations with the Indonesian military. Unarmed activists clamouring for independence – who are for the most part young, black and indigenous – are the Indonesian police and military's primary targets.

The movement in West Papua has transitioned from an armed struggle in the rugged mountains and remote jungles of West Papua to a nonviolent uprising in the cities and towns. It is led by young people, backed up by growing organised solidarity from Indonesians, Pacific Islanders, people from all over the African continent, and activists from Australia, New Zealand, Europe and the United States of America.

We need to grow the numbers and groups of solidarity activists and wage smarter and more powerful campaigns because the police are not acting alone. The Indonesian police are armed by a host of countries including Korea who supplies armoured vehicles and tear gas, Germany who supplies weapons and over 20 other countries. The Indonesian National Police are also trained by the Australian, US, English, Canadian and New Zealand Governments and police forces. Over 21,000 Indonesian police have been trained at the Jakarta Centre for Law Enforcement Cooperation since they opened their doors in 2004.

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
e-mail icon
> Back to events list

Eco-shout national grassroots events calendar promotes actions, protests, film screenings, public forums, campaign training, workshops, conservation, revegetation and gatherings for environmental and social justice. Check out how much it's kicking off around the country - together we are lots! Add an event and we'll share it through social media at peak times and do our best to shout about it. Share the calendar with your grumpy mates who think there's nothing going on.