Free Palestine Actions - End the Siege, End the Genocide, End the Occupation

Monday, 1 January 2024 - 9:00am to Tuesday, 31 December 2024 - 5:00pm

Across the country

Actions across the country for Palestine

Camp Sovereignty

Friday, 26 January 2024 - 9:00am to Sunday, 1 December 2024 - 12:00am

Wurundjeri and Boon Wurrung Country

Come to camp to learn more

Queer PHOTO: Black and Blur

Saturday, 27 January 2024 - 9:00am to Friday, 24 May 2024 - 5:00pm

Wurundjeri and Bunurong Country

Portraits of migrant and Indigenous Black individuals rooted in the unique context of what is commonly referred to as Australia - Benetti’s work recognises Blackness is far from a monolithic identity

Yoorrook Justice Commission - Land Sky and Water Public Hearings

Monday, 25 March 2024 - 9:00am to Friday, 26 April 2024 - 5:00pm

Wurundjeri Country

Yoorrook will begin hearings into injustices against First Peoples related to land, sky and waters with a ceremonial hearing on Gunditjmara country near Portland, where the colonisation of Vic began

Parrtjima- A Festival in Light

Friday, 12 April 2024 - 9:00am to Sunday, 21 April 2024 - 5:00pm

Arrernte Country

Parrtjima is an extraordinary free 10-night festival in the stunning Red Centre, with an incredible program featuring light installations, music and talks.

Fundraiser for Palestine - Theatre Royal Castlemaine

Sunday, 21 April 2024 - 3:00pm

Dja Dja Wurrung Country

Music from The Double Dole String Band, Eliza Hull, Baby Velvet, Charlie Needs Braces, Angie Hart, Nokomi Achkar, and The Freedom Singers. With poetry by Andy Jackson and Declan Furber Gillick.

Frontline Climate Alliance Vic Meeting #5

Monday, 22 April 2024 - 6:00pm

Wurundjeri Country

The alliance will build grassroots power for community led adaptation solutions, and build pressure on the Victorian government to act on climate adaptation.

Benalla Bullet Blockade - Blockade NIOA and Thales

Friday, 26 April 2024 - 10:00am

Pangerang, Taungurong and Yorta Yorta Country

Save the date. NIOA and THALES make and sell bullets, rockets, shells and guns to the IOF in Israel and to TNI in Indonesia. Join the community blockade to disrupt the arms trade.

Rattling the Cages: Political Prisoners, Mass Incarceration, and Abolition

Sunday, 28 April 2024 - 9:00am

Former political prisoners discuss their experience behind bars and how activists can prepare for political repression and incarceration.

JENIN, JENIN - Documentary Screening

Sunday, 28 April 2024 - 6:00pm

Wurundjeri Country

Following the film, we will host a Q&A conversation with Palestinian activists and community organisers here in Naarm who grew up in the West Bank.

Rise Up! 12 Days of Action with Move Beyond Coal

Monday, 29 April 2024 - 9:00am to Friday, 10 May 2024 - 7:00pm

Check out the map to join an action and connect with others taking action for this powerful moment together!

Wide Open Space Festival 2024

Friday, 3 May 2024 - 9:00am to Sunday, 5 May 2024 - 5:00pm

Arrernte Country

Celebrating its 13th year, this incredible festival will be returning to Eastern Arrernte Country in the heart of the Tjoritja Ranges. Music, art, performance, desert culture.

Legacy trees of the Central Highlands - Guided Walk

Saturday, 4 May 2024 - 10:30am

Taungurung Country

We’ll stand under towering Mountain Ash, see the tallest moss in the world, and listen for the calls of Superb Lyrebirds, Yellow-tailed Black Cockatoos and Crimson Rosellas.

Land, Biodiversity & the Colony

Thursday, 9 May 2024 - 6:00pm

Wurundjeri Country

Beit e'Shai is excited to host this important event on Land, Biodiversity & the Colony, discussing parallels of settler-colonial projects occupying Palestine & Aboriginal Nations in this continent

Palestine Solidarity Conference

Friday, 10 May 2024 - 9:00am to Sunday, 12 May 2024 - 5:00pm

Wurundjeri and Boon Wurrung Country

Save the date. The conference will bring together a diverse range of people passionate about the Palestine cause to explore how the movement can work together.

Protest Laws Mass Rally & Sit-down

Thursday, 16 May 2024 - 4:00pm

Kaurna Country

The SA Anti-Protest Laws, passed in May last year, penalise peaceful protest and undermine democratic rights for all. Join us in a mass sit-down on the road.

KOAL - climate theatre show

Wednesday, 22 May 2024 - 7:30pm to Saturday, 1 June 2024 - 8:30pm

Bunurong Land

A one-woman climate-catastrophe-clown-show that immerses the audience in the 2019 bushfires and explores what is lost when your home is erased.

Global Fight to Protect Forests and Indigenous Communities

Friday, 31 May 2024 - 6:30pm

Wurundjeri Country

We will hear about the inspiring stories of resistance of the Mapuche people, indigenous to Southern Chile and Argentina, and how it compares to what is happening in Victoria.

Ḻuku Ngärra: The Law of the Land - Naarm Film Screening

Friday, 31 May 2024 - 6:30pm

Wurundjeri Country

See this award winning indigenous funded documentary Ḻuku Ngärra: The Law of the Land followed by a heartfelt Truth Telling Together discussion with the film maker and special guests.

Barunga Festival

Friday, 7 June 2024 - 9:00am to Monday, 10 June 2024 - 5:00pm

Bagala Country

Barunga is proud to preserve ancient rites, customs and skills, and engage the broader community to offer a platform for passing on knowledge and experience to the next generation

Castlemaine Documentary Festival

Friday, 14 June 2024 - 9:00am to Sunday, 16 June 2024 - 10:00pm

Dja Dja Wurrung Country

Real stories, real issues, real characters, real conversations.

Plastic Free July 2024

Monday, 1 July 2024 - 7:00am to Wednesday, 31 July 2024 - 11:00pm

Plastic Free July is a global movement that helps millions of people be part of the solution to plastic pollution.

NAIDOC Week 2024

Sunday, 7 July 2024 - 9:00am to Sunday, 14 July 2024 - 10:00pm

Keep the fire burning, Blak, loud and proud! NAIDOC week celebrates the incredible culture and art of First Nations people across the country, find events near you

Darwin Aboriginal Art Fair

Friday, 9 August 2024 - 9:00am to Sunday, 11 August 2024 - 5:00pm

Larrakia Country

Showcasing the contemporary fine art and design of more than 70 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art Centres from across Australia

Giiyong Festival

Saturday, 9 November 2024 - 9:00am to 10:00pm

Thaua Country, Yuin Nation

Having an Aboriginal cultural festival on Aboriginal owned land is such a unique gift which allows us to showcase the amazing artistic talent which thrives on the south coast.

The People's Blockade of the World's Largest Coal Port 2024

Wednesday, 20 November 2024 - 10:00am to Friday, 29 November 2024 - 2:00pm

Awabakal and Worimi Country

10,000 people. 10 days. 5 days of action disrupting the world’s largest coal port.
Subscribe to Grassroots and environmental events calendar