Camberwell
Victoria
Rent: $1000 Bond: $1000
a bit communal, vegetarian, vegan, extra queer friendly, no tv

ROOM AVAILABLE NOW in an amazing location, CAMBERWELL junction, PARTLY FURNISHED, surrounded by plants and thriving inside too. Ideal for COUPLES but still good for SINGLES

The house is very chill and relaxed colourful vibey place, surrounded by gardens, lots of communal space including a dining area, decently sized kitchen, lounge room, and garage that works as a nice hangout space. 2 shower rooms upstairs between 3 bedroom and two toilets in the house. (No queueing for a morning shower for us!) And there's plenty of plant life to keep the house alive with energy. We also have a chicken in the garden, who can be described as sassy, and some residential possums who are more active at night.

The room is part furnished with a bed, built in wardrobe and big storage drawers but there is room for some personal touches. Big windows allow the room to fill with light, so if you too are a plant person they should be happy in there.

A tram line is right outside the front door and runs frequently, number 70. Camberwell Junction approx. 300m away with trams 72 and 75 among others. We are 650m from Camberwell station where 3 train lines take you to the CBD in about 12 minutes. So the location is pretty good for easy access to the city, but if you have your own car there is a parking space allocated too! The house is hidden away off the main road so it is quite peaceful.

Who lives here: The lead tennant is Emily, a Deakin Enviro Student who is currently overseas until March 2019. She is a whiz in the kitchen, and all-round performer. She loves to keep fit, build stuff out of pallets, and watch films. Also loves to get out of the city a bit, camping or hiking. Currently in the house is myself and partner Tom, two mid-twenties British vegans who occupy the main bedroom, struggling artists (as is tradition), film lovers and foodies, and Judit, thirty and from Hungary, soulful lover of yoga and meditation. We like having people over, but don’t really throw big parties, Dinner parties are pretty regular; food is life!

Total cost for this room per week with all rent, essential bills (water, gas, electricity), heaps of Communal food (basically most food), netflix, unlimited internet and household maintainance is $250p/w. Yes, this includes food, we shop as a house and get most things in bulk from a variety of shops in the area, in order to greatly reduce our plastic consumption. We do also get our own individual things but it is pretty sweet to have the majority of stuff covered.

About you: You can be any age, any gender, whatever goes. Vego/vegan and relatively eco conscious (similar values etc.) Open and happy to share things. You don’t need to be super-communal about everything, but ideally you’d want a little more out of your home than simply a place to dump your stuff and sleep – want to make the house a home and all that.

Perfection would be someone who is willing to come along dumpster diving, wants to hang out a bit and eat with us, cooks and cleans up after themselves and does their fair share of housework, chilling with a film and doesn't mind a chat at the end of, or before the work day.

PM me with a little about yourself, your situation, when you'd be available to see the house, if there’s one or two of you, and any other info, anything you think is interesting about you!

* P.S I know it says no tv and yet there's a picture of a rather big TV.. I mean by that we don't have terrestrial TV, but can plug in our laptops and stuff on to the big screen.

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Pinterest icon
e-mail icon
> back to all the sharehousing listings

Eco-shout sharehousing lists notices for sharehouses and people looking to live with like minded souls who are environmentally and socially aware. They may be vegan, vegetarian, organic eaters, lovers of bikes, shunners of tv, plastic and chemicals or just nice people into their veggie patch. You can post your own notice or tell your mates about the network to spread the goodness.