Coburg
Victoria
Rent: $730 Bond: $650
a bit communal, extra queer friendly, has a veggie patch

WANTED – Housemate to share established comfy and spacious home!

Dear friends, our excellent housemate Adele is moving to the Tiwi Islands and we need a new one STAT! Please help us spread the word to the good folks out there. x

Available now - preferred moving in dates between 2 - 12 Feb ,
In person house interviews now from Feb 1 as I’ll be away for a bit but please PM if interested to get the conversation rolling - happy to chat over phone, Whatsapp etc

Carmen, Linda and Cabbage the cat are looking for a fine 30+ human to share a lovely established home close to Merri Creek, the wonders of Coburg Mall and great public transport options.

The available room is large and has great natural light. It is unfurnished. The loft bed previously mentioned is no longer available.

The house is a light, spacious Californian Bungalow with floorboards throughout, high ceilings, front and back yards, big back veranda, small front porch, big kitchen, two toilets, car-port (used mostly as workshop/some storage) and generous fig & pomegranate trees. It is well established as a comfortable, welcoming home with white goods provided and the main living areas fully equipped and furnished.

Looking for someone:
* 30+ who is independent, motivated and has a regular routine, ie work or study
*values a harmonious household and is friendly and flexible, respectful of others space and belongings
*reliable with rent and bills
*can commit to 12 months minimum stay (18 months preferred)
*is environmentally conscious – ie. good at recycling and tuned into sustainability and minimizing waste and power use on the domestic front
*who likes a tidy home and is great at cleaning up shared spaces/chores without prompting or need for a roster
*who preferably works in a different field to us but is interested in the creative side of life and enjoys a good stimulating conversation and occasional hang-out with the housemates
*The house would suit someone with minimal effects as it's well equipped and has little room for storage, but ideally everyone contributes some of their own basic items like crockery and frequently used kitchen equipment
*Would best suit someone who is comfortable without cranking the heating high in winter
*Queer friendly
*Women preferred but all interested parties considered
*Non-smokers preferred, occasional outdoors ok
*No couples

The Facts:
*Rent is: $738.66 PCM + bills
*Bond $650
*Utility bills and other shared household expenses (light bulbs, loo paper etc) as needed
*Room is available from 20th January. New tenant will be added to current lease
*Address: Coburg, before Bell St, close to Nicholson St.
*Ducted heating and ceiling fans throughout
*Easy access to the city: no.1 & 19 trams, trains and buses within easy walking distance, plus easy bike paths to city, northern suburbs etc
*Gardener included, ie: no lawn-mowing!
*Resident handsome cat – Cabbage!
*Spare room/study - used as a workroom and available to everyone as guest room. Negotiable.
*Washing machine and fridge included
*Broadband internet paid monthly
*Option to share subscription services like Netflix/Stan

PM if interested!

A bit about Carmen:
I’m a visual artist in my early 40’s who also teaches in sculpture and works in a gallery. I'm a social creature but need my space and moments of solitude. To me this home is a haven more than a social hub but I love to share a home-cooked meal with friends from time to time. On the home front you’ll usually find me watching films, cooking, working on various projects, gardening, indulging in music or books and generally pottering. I enjoy living with folks who inspire hearty conversation who I can develop a friendship with over time and share the odd meal/drink/movie/scrabble-match/tv series binge/social occasion.

A bit about Linda:
I'm Linda, 40, a primary school relief teacher and also work with adults who have disabilities. I'm a queer eco-feminist leftie! I like cooking and camping with friends, being around water and nature. I like to read, craft and get creative. I also like to play the odd board game, watch films and have a good yarn!

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Pinterest icon
e-mail icon
> back to all the sharehousing listings

Eco-shout sharehousing lists notices for sharehouses and people looking to live with like minded souls who are environmentally and socially aware. They may be vegan, vegetarian, organic eaters, lovers of bikes, shunners of tv, plastic and chemicals or just nice people into their veggie patch. You can post your own notice or tell your mates about the network to spread the goodness.